Skip to content

Writing Pains

January 31, 2013

Somewhere between what I hope my book will resemble when its finished and what it’s like now is this big slice of proactive fantasy. When freelance work gets the better of me, and I take a few days away from it, I have these cocktail-soaked moments of cut-throat clarity: I know exactly which scenes I need to cull. I know exactly what’s missing, what’s unclear, what needs to be sharpened and what needs to go. The longer I spend away from it, the closer I feel to finishing it, because the dead bits, the fat that needs cutting away, are so cleanly dealt with in the mind, but getting to grips with it on the page is nigh on impossible.

I’m having a break from this project for a while. During a recent online Q&A with the writer Erin Kelly, I asked her if she’d ever shelved a project. I had my fingers crossed that she’d be like, “Totes, all writers do it” but instead she was all “fuck no” (well, I’m paraphrasing but that was the crux of her reply). I need some space from it, to figure out what actually needs changing and what’s currently working.

Not that anyone cares, I’m just trying to get back into blogging on this blog. Most of my love and attention goes to Smokin’ Tofu, my veggie/vegan food blog.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2013 5:38 pm

    Editing sucks! I should be editing my own novel right now, but I was happily procrastinating until I read this post. Damn you! Now guilt is perched upon my shoulders like a gargoyle.

    • January 31, 2013 5:43 pm

      NO! It’s the opposite of guilt… I’m shelving the fucker for a few months: the ultimate in blow-off writing techniques.

      • January 31, 2013 5:51 pm

        I don’t have that luxury. Hubby wants to become a kept man as soon as possible. Must finish edit. Must sell book.

    • January 31, 2013 5:54 pm

      I’m not resting on my laurels – working on another project.

      • January 31, 2013 6:00 pm

        I’m sure you are. It sounds like you’ve actually managed to make a profession of this. I’m a little jealous. 🙂

    • January 31, 2013 6:02 pm

      I don’t know why Word Press won’t let me reply to individual comments… stupid thing. Anyway – I wish! Still struggling.

Leave a Reply

